Gunn fires into joint lead at Singha Chiangmai Open

August 6, Chiangmai: ASEAN PGA Tour number one Gunn Charoenkul of Thailand took a three-way

share of the first-round lead at the Singha Chiangmai Open on Thursday after sizzling to a seven-

under-par 64.

Gunn, who won three ASEAN PGA Tour events last year en route to the summit of the Order of Merit,|

was joined at the top of the leaderboard by Sutijet Kooratanapisan and amateur Napong Sriprasit.

The trio hold a one-shot lead over veteran Thaworn Wiratchant, the in-form Natthapong Niyomchon and

Panuphol Pittayarat at Mae Jo Golf Resort & Spa.

Golden oldie Prayad Marksaeng, currently leading the ASEAN PGA Tour moneylist, sits in joint seventh

place after a steady 66.

Defending champion Chapchai Nirat, who picked up shots at the last three holes to win the tournament

last year, found birdies harder to come by on Thursday and carded a 68.

Gunn had an outstanding 2014 with two victories in Thailand and one in Malaysia and he recaptured

that form on Thursday with an accomplished, bogey-free 64.

Three birdies in four holes from the sixth saw him go out in 32 and he was three-under-par on the

inward nine.

Sutijet, with three top-six finishes to his credit on the Asian Development Tour this season, turned on

the after burners in the closing holes and his three straight birdies from the 16th saw him catch Gunn at

the top. Napong also closed with two birdies.

The 48-year-old Thaworn, a multiple winner in Asia who is bidding for his second ASEAN PGA Tour win

of the year after his victory in the season-opening Singha E-San Open, carded seven birdies and a lone


The Singha Chiangmai Open is jointly sanctioned by the ASEAN PGA Tour and the All Thailand Golf


Leading Round 1 Scores

65 – Thaworn WIRATCHANT (THA) , Natthapong NIYOMCHON (THA) , Panuphol PITTAYARAT (THA)

66 – Tirawat KAEWSIRIBANDIT (THA) , Tichakorn SAWADDEE (THA) , Thanyakon KHRONGPHA (THA) , Prayad MARKSAENG (THA)

67 – Porameth SONTHIRATI (THA) , Worrasorn SUWANPANANG (THA) , Supakrit RATTANAKAMPHOL (THA) , Kwanchai TANNIN (THA) , Kousuke HAMAMOTO (Am) (THA) , CHOO Tze Huang (SIN) , POH Swee Kiat Johnson (SIN)