About the Tour

In a groundbreaking development for professional golf in the region the ASEAN PGA Tour was launched at a press conference in Jakarta on August 15, 2007.

A total of five events were staged that year aimed at giving greater playing opportunities to professional golfers from the 10 member countries of ASEAN.

Malaysian Danny Chia made history by becoming the first player to win on the exciting new Tour when he claimed the season opening International Championship presented by Telkomsel at Imperial Klub Golf in Jakarta in September.

Prize money for the event was US$50,000 and was followed by tournaments in the Philippines, Singapore, Vietnam and Thailand.

After an outstanding first season, the Tour received a massive boost in 2008 when Mercedes-Benz came on board as Tour Title Sponsor as part of a three year relationship.

A schedule of 10 events was announced with Mercedes-Benz title sponsoring six events in their key markets Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, the Philippines, and Vietnam.

Officially sanctioned by ASEAN and its Secretary-General Ong Keng Yong, the Tour is headquartered in Singapore.

The flourishing state of men’s professional golf in Asia resulted in the need for the region to boast such a Tour.

Many talented professionals in Southeast Asia, whether they are up and coming golfers or more seasoned players, do not have enough chances to play competitive golf. The Mercedes-Benz Tour therefore fills their playing schedules with more tournaments.

The bulk of the fields are made up of professionals from the golfing strongholds of  Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines and Thailand. In addition some of the top amateurs in Southeast Asia compete on the Tour.

The Tour plans to organize events in the other member nations which are Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, and Myanmar.

World Sport Group, who are also headquartered in Singapore, are the Official Commercial Partner for the Tour.